Notice of the Corstorphine/Murrayfield by-election published

Nominations open on Monday (23 January) for candidates to stand in the forthcoming Corstorphine/Murrayfield by-election which is being held following the resignation of Councillor Frank Ross.

On Thursday 9 March, Corstorphine/Murrayfield residents will go to the polls to select a new councillor to represent the ward which also covers Balgreen, Broomhall, Carrick Knowe, Ravelston and Roseburn and has a current electorate of 19,287.

An official Notice of Election was published today explaining how to stand as a candidate, who is eligible to vote and how to make sure you are on the Electoral Register.

In order to stand as a candidate, individuals must submit nomination papers by 4pm on Monday 6 February.

Andrew Kerr, Chief Executive of the City of Edinburgh Council and Returning Officer, said:

The Notice of Election signifies the official start of the election period for Corstorphine/Murrayfield. I would urge all citizens in the ward to make sure they are registered and have their details or preference of how they would like to vote up to date in plenty of time. They should now think about the way they want to cast their vote – in a polling place or by post - and make sure to use that vote on 9 March.

Anyone unsure about how to register, where to vote or how to vote by post can find more information on the Council website.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on 9 March. Details of where these are will be announced shortly.

People aged 16 and over and all those legally resident – including foreign citizens - can register to vote in this election.

Find out more about elections in Edinburgh and how to register to vote.

The deadline to register to vote is midnight Tuesday 21 February, to apply for a postal vote the deadline is 5pm on Wednesday 22 February, and for a proxy vote the deadline is 5pm on Wednesday 1 March.

Published: January 20th 2023