Edinburgh's Licensing Board

Edinburgh's Licensing Board is responsible for regulating the sale of alcohol to the public and certain gambling activities, by issuing alcohol licences and betting and gambling permits.

Statement of Licensing Policy 2023

The Board agreed the terms of its new Statement of Licensing Policy at its meeting on 27 November 2023.  Webcast recordings of the meeting are available for viewing on the Council’s website. The final version of the policy confirms changes to extended hours policy, occasional licensing, expectations on safe travel arrangements and a number of other adjustments.

Extended hours 2023

The Board agreed that for the 2023-24 festive season the extended hours policy would remain unchanged, operating between 18 December 2023 and 3 January 2024, inclusive.

Licensing Board members

  • Councillor Louise Young (Convener)
  • Councillor Jason Rust (Vice Convener)
  • Councillor Pauline Flannery
  • Councillor Margaret Graham
  • Councillor Lezley Marion Cameron
  • Councillor Chas Booth
  • Councillor Norman Work
  • Councillor Catherine Fullerton
  • Councillor David Key

View recent Licensing Board meeting papers 

Download the Licensing Board rules and meeting dates (PDF, 70KB)
Download  details of what to expect at a Licensing Board meeting (PDF, 285KB)

Financial statements

Download the Edinburgh Licensing Board's annual financial statements (PDF, 297KB)

Alcohol and gambling policies

Download the gambling policy and related documents (PDFs)
Download the alcohol licensing policy (PDF, 8MB) 

Equalities policy and outcomes

Download the equalities policy outcomes (PDF, 161KB)
Download the equalities policy 2018 (PDF, 282KB)

Freedom of information

Download freedom of Information publication scheme 2018 (PDF, 208 KB)

Annual functions reports

Download annual reports on the board's functions (PDF, 108KB)

Privacy notice

Download the privacy notice (PDF, 196KB)

Licensing - general enquiries

Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 8.30am to 5pm, Tuesday 10am to 5pm and Friday 8.30am to 3.55pm.

Telephone: 0131 529 4208

Fax: 0131 529 4207