Scottish Parliamentary Elections results

Scottish Parliamentary Election 2021 results

Using the 'first past the post' system, voters elect a constituency Member of Scottish Parliament (MSP), based on the UK Parliament constituencies. Edinburgh has six constituency MSPs.

Voters elect a further seven regional MSPs using the additional member system of proportional representation. The system uses regional lists which include candidates selected by political parties and independent candidates. Edinburgh is in the Lothians Region.

Download full 2021 results

Constituency results

Constituency Candidate Party Votes
Edinburgh Central Angus Robertson Scottish National Party (SNP) 16,276
Edinburgh Eastern Ash Denham Scottish National Party (SNP) 22,658
Edinburgh Northern and Leith Ben MacPherson Scottish National Party (SNP) 22,443
Edinburgh Pentlands Gordon MacDonald Scottish National Party (SNP) 16,227
Edinburgh Southern Daniel Johnson Scottish Labour Party and Scottish Co-Operative Party 20,760
Edinburgh Western Alex Cole-Hamilton Scottish Liberal Democrats 25,578

Lothian region results

  • Miles Briggs - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Alison Johnstone - Scottish Green Party
  • Sue Webber - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Sarah Boyack - Scottish Labour Party
  • Jeremy Balfour - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Foysol Choudhury - Scottish Labour Party
  • Lorna Slater - Scottish Green Party

Previous Scottish Parliamentary Election results

Download results from

Contact us for details of earlier elections.

Elections office

Address: City Chambers,
High Street,

Telephone: 0131 469 3126