Public Honours

The Edinburgh Award

The Edinburgh Award was established in 2007 and is now a prestigious annual award to honour an outstanding individual who has made a positive impact on the city and gained national and international recognition for Edinburgh. 

Nominations for the Edinburgh Award have now closed. Sir Geoff Palmer is the recipient of the Edinburgh Award 2022. Read why Sir Geoff won this year's award.


The individual

  • was born in Edinburgh or has lived in the city for the past 12 months
  • has not previously been awarded The Freedom of the City
  • is not a previous winner of The Edinburgh Award
  • is not a serving politician.

The winner is presented with an engraved Loving Cup at a ceremony hosted by the Lord Provost and has their hand prints reproduced on a flagstone in the City Chambers quadrangle.

Edinburgh Award recipients

  • 2022 Sir Geoff Palmer
  • 2021 Fergus Linehan
  • 2020 Alexander McCall Smith
  • 2019 Ann Budge
  • 2018 Doddie Weir
  • 2017 Sir Timothy O'Shea
  • 2016 Ken Buchanan MBE
  • 2015 Sir Tom Farmer 
  • 2014 Thomas Gilzean
  • 2013 Richard Demarco
  • 2012 Dame Elizabeth Blackadder
  • 2011 Professor Peter Higgs
  • 2010 George Kerr CBE
  • 2009 Sir Chris Hoy MBE
  • 2008 JK Rowling OBE
  • 2007 Ian Rankin OBE