Public holidays

Public holiday dates 2020

  • Wednesday 1 January - New Year's Day
  • Thursday 2 January - Public Holiday
  • Friday 10 April - Good Friday
  • Monday 13 April - Easter Monday
  • Monday 20 April - Spring Public Holiday *
  • Monday 4 May - May Day Public Holiday *
  • Monday 18 May - Victoria Day Public Holiday *
  • Saturday 4 July - Trades Holidays commence
  • Monday 21 September - Autumn Public Holiday *
  • Friday 25 December - Christmas Day
  • Monday 28 December - Public Holiday

* On these dates, Council offices and libraries will be open but schools will be shut. 

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve edinburgh.gov.uk

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.