How we are organised

Council services

The Council has five main service areas

Children and Families - schools and community education, youth justice, and social work services for children and their families.

Economic Development - making sure Edinburgh has a strong sustainable economy and is seen as a prosperous place in which to live, work and study or visit.

Corporate Governance - Council Tax, housing benefit, the Lothian Pension Fund, accounts, legal services, culture and sport, and internal services for other parts of the Council.

Health and Social Care - care for people in their own homes or nursing homes, criminal justice services, a 24 hour emergency service for people in need of help, and advice and assistance on welfare rights.

Services for Communities - keeping the city well housed, clean and green, and easier to get around. It also helps to keep people up to date about their services and gets their views about services.

You may also be interested in Councillors and committees and our plans and progress

Council Pledges

Council Strategies and Plans

Council Information, Performance and Statistics.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.