20mph in my area

The fourth and final phase of the 20mph rollout came into effect in South Edinburgh on 5 March 2018.  The 20mph speed limit covers residential, shopping and city centre streets.  A network of 30 and 40 mph roads remains on key arterial routes.

Use our interactive map, or download maps, to see 20mph streets in your area below.

How do I know I am in a 20mph area?

Large 20mph signs mark the entrance and exit of a 20mph area where the speed limit changes, followed by smaller repeater signs or road markings with the speed limit.

Timetable for implementation
Phase Area Speed limit applies from

City centre and rural west (including South Queensferry, Kirkliston, Ratho, Currie and Balerno)

31 July 2016
Two North and south central/east 28 February 2017
Three North west/west 16 August 2017
Four South 5 March 2018

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve edinburgh.gov.uk

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.