Top team completed as Council appoints conveners

The City of Edinburgh Council has formally appointed committee conveners at its meeting of all councillors today.

Council Leader Cllr Andrew Burns said: "The fact that the electorate returned a total of 38 councillors in the two coalition parties give us real strength in depth, so I'm delighted that we've been able to put together such a great team to lead the city over the next five years. I know all of them will work tirelessly to ensure Edinburgh meets the challenges we all face and that we deliver the pledges contained in our new contract with the capital."

Deputy Council Leader Cllr Steve Cardownie added: "The SNP and Labour manifestos were incredibly similar and we were able to produce our coalition agreement very easily. Similarly, we each recognise the abilities and commitment that the other brings to the responsibilities we now have, so it was straightfoward agreeing who our nominations for the posts were going to be. I think I can speak for both groups in saying that we very much look forward to working together in the coming years."

Culture and Leisure

  • Convener - Richard Lewis
  • Vice-convener - Norma Austin Hart

Economic Development

  • Convener - Tom Buchanan
  • Vice-convener - Gordon Munro

Education, Children and Families

  • Convener - Paul Godzik
  • Vice-convener - David Key

Finance and Resources

  • Convener - Alasdair Rankin
  • Vice-convener - Bill Cook

Health, Social Care and Housing

  • Convener - Ricky Henderson
  • Vice-convener - Cammy Day


  • Convener - Ian Perry
  • Vice-convener - Sandy Howat


  • Convener - Gavin Barrie
  • Vice-convener - Angela Blacklock

Transport and Environment

  • Convener - Lesley Hinds
  • Vice-convener - Jim Orr

Maureen Child has been appointed as the Convener of the Audit committee, with Frank Ross as the Vice-convener, as an interim step while the Council's governance arrangements are reviewed.

The main leadership roles were appointed at the Council meeting on 17 May:

  • Leader - Andrew Burns
  • Provost - Donald Wilson
  • Deputy Leader - Steve Cardownie
  • Deputy Lord Provost - Deidre Brock

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.