Remember to use your vote this Thursday

Voters are being reminded that polling stations will be open this Thursday 18 August for the Edinburgh City Centre by-election.

The City of Edinburgh Council seat has become vacant following Councillor Beckett's decision to leave to study at Harvard University.

Voters are reminded to check their polling cards for details of where they should cast their vote, as some venues have changed to avoid clashing with Fringe venues. Others have been relocated to avoid disrupting schools in the first week of term.

Polling stations (open from 7am to 10pm):

  • Lauriston Halls, Sacred Heart Church, 28 Lauriston Street;
  • Lothian Chambers, 59-63 George IV Bridge (relocated from Augustine United Church);
  • Waverley Court, Council headquarters, 4 East Market Street (relocated from Royal Mile Primary school and Panmure St Anne's);
  • London Road Church Hall, 1A Easter Road (relocated from Abbeyhill Primary school);
  • Walpole Hall, St Mary's Cathedral, Chester Street;
  • St Stephen's Centre, 105 St Stephen Street;
  • St Paul's and St George's Church, 10 Broughton Street (relocated from St Mary's RC Primary school);
  • The Apex Hotel, 90 Haymarket Terrace.

The election will use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system where voters can rank candidates in order of preference rather than using a single cross. Voters can give a rank to as many or as few candidates as they like. The votes will be counted and the results announced on Friday 19 August.

The six candidates for the vacant seat in the City Centre ward are:

  • John Carson - Independent;
  • Karen Doran - Scottish Labour Party;
  • Alistair Hodgson - Scottish Liberal Democrats;
  • Melanie Main - Scottish Green Party;
  • Iain McGill - Scottish Conservative and Unionist;
  • Alasdair Rankin - Scottish National Party (SNP).

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.