Fifty per cent increase in Edinburgh candidates for Youth Parliament

The number of young people campaigning to stand for Edinburgh in the Scottish Youth Parliament has increased by 50 per cent, it was announced today.

A total of 27 young people from all areas of the city are now in the running to represent Edinburgh in this year's Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) - up from 18 standing for election last year.

Ranging in age from 14 to 23, the youth candidates represent Council and independent schools, colleges and universities and are competing for 12 seats - across six city areas: Central, Eastern, Northern & Leith, Pentlands, Southern and Western.

City Education Leader Cllr Marilyne MacLaren said:

"This increase in candidates just goes to show that despite claims in some quarters of apathy and disinterest; young people in Edinburgh today have a passionate awareness of both their local community and the wider world around them.

"Standing for the Scottish Youth Parliament will provide all the candidates with an ideal platform to present the issues that matter to them to a wider audience and I look forward to following their campaigns with interest."

With advice from the Council's Youngedinburgh team, the candidates can now start to work on their election campaign in order to get the most votes in the SYP elections on 14-25 March.

As well as hitting the campaign trail in their schools, colleges and local community, they will be able to post a mini-manifesto and campaign videos on the SYP Edinburgh Facebook page at

The Scottish Youth Parliament is a non-party political organisation made up of 150 young people aged 14-25 and represents every constituency in Scotland.

It campaigns to highlight the voice of Scotland's young people on a national and international stage and sits three times each year at a range of different locations, including in the main chamber at Holyrood's Scottish Parliament.

More information can be found on the SYP website:


Full list of the candidates (with schools/further education as applicable):


Charlie Brinkhurst Cuff / Broughton HS

Chris Glendinning / George Heriot's School

Winnie Wen / Stevenson College

Finlay Young / Fettes College


Billy Foreman / Holy Rood HS

Natalie Maceira / Holy Rood HS

Ryan Ross / Portobello HS

Northern & Leith

Chanel Alexander / Telford College

Terri Miller / Telford College

Kelley Temple / University of Strathclyde

Fiona Scott / Telford College


Gael Anderson / Currie Community HS

Sara Ansari / Firrhill HS

Ross Arthur / Royal HS

Rhiannon Lee / Currie Community HS

Paul Murphy / Heriot-Watt University

Michael Shearer - in employment

Paul Sloan / Telford College


Malcolm Boyd / James Gillespie's HS

Nathan Duncan / Boroughmuir HS

Lindsay Hunter / University of Stirling

Robin Quinn / George Watson's College

Eilidh Still / Boroughmuir HS


John Beaton / Queensferry High School

John Bendo / St Augustines

Jahura Hussain / Royal High School

Tom Quinn / Craigmount High School


Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.