Muirhouse Salvesen Community Council members appointed

A new community council will be formed in Edinburgh's Muirhouse Salvesen area following a successful nomination process.

Six members have been elected to the community council. Their first meeting is due to be held on 15 August, where the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer will be appointed, as well as the approval of a Constitution.

This meeting will be chaired by a representative from the Council’s Elections Team, with support from Committee Services officers. Following this, the community council will be able to make arrangements for its future meetings.

Culture and Communities Convener, Councillor Donald Wilson, said: “Congratulations to the new members of Muirhouse Salvesen Community Council. I'm delighted that these individuals can now come together to support the needs of, and make improvements on behalf of, their local community.

“Community councils are a great way for local people meet and to share ideas for improving the area in partnership with their own local Councillors."

The city’s community councils are involved in each of its 12 Neighbourhood Partnerships and work with the Council and other organisations to represent the views of local people.

Find out more about community councils on the Council website.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.