Edinburgh UK Parliamentary results announced

The UK Parliamentary General Election results for Edinburgh’s five constituencies have been announced at Meadowbank Sports Centre.

The Members of Parliament for each constituency are listed in full below and full details of the results are online:
Edinburgh East Constituency: Tommy Sheppard, SNP
Edinburgh North & Leith Constituency: Deidre Brock, SNP
Edinburgh South Constituency: Ian Murray, Scottish Labour Party
Edinburgh South West Constituency: Joanna Cherry, SNP
Edinburgh West Constituency: Christine Jardine, Scottish Liberal Democrats
Returning Officer Andrew Kerr made the announcement on Friday, 9th June.
He said: “It is with thanks to the hard work of the Council's election team and staff across the Council, who have worked extremely hard to deliver this election within a short timescale. I  would also like to thank Police Scotland, the candidates and their agents and the media for working closely with us to conduct proceedings properly and efficiently.
“It has been a particularly busy time for politics recently, so I’m pleased that so many people have turned out to participate here in Edinburgh. Thanks to voters for taking the time to have their say."
Turnout: 71%
Electorate: 352,600
Votes cast: 250,492
For further details of the results and the General Election, please see the Elections section of the Council website.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve edinburgh.gov.uk

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.