Nominations open for the Edinburgh Award

The much-coveted Edinburgh Award is seeking its eighth recipient as nominations are launched today (Tuesday 28 October) to find the successor to art entrepreneur Richard Demarco.

The Edinburgh Award 2014

First launched in 2007, the Edinburgh Award is a way for Edinburgh citizens to pay a lasting tribute to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the city through their achievements.

Past recipients include authors JK Rowling and Ian Rankin, sports stars Sir Chris Hoy and George Kerr, scientist Professor Peter Higgs and artist Elizabeth Blackadder - each of whom has a cast of their handprints imprinted in flagstones in front of the Capital’s City Chambers. 

Nominations are sought annually from communities, businesses and individuals across Edinburgh and the winner is selected by a panel chaired by the Lord Provost.

The Rt Hon Donald Wilson, Lord Provost, said: “The Edinburgh Award is a coveted accolade and celebrates those people who have been outstanding ambassadors for the city at home and throughout the world.

"If you know somebody who should have this award get involved and nominate them now.  In addition to the award itself the recipients have their handprints embedded into the stones in the City Chambers Quadrangle, providing a visual and lasting tribute to their contribution to this great city.  We all have people in mind that we think are deserving so make sure you get online and make your views known.”

Nominations will open on Tuesday 28 October and can be made online at and must be received no later than Thursday 27 November 2014. Postal nominations are also available.

The recipient will be presented with an engraved Loving Cup by the Lord Provost at a ceremony early next year.

Make your nomination for the Edinburgh Award.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.