Seeking views on new school street proposals

Consultation is set to get under way in 11 school communities across Edinburgh over the coming months as part of a new pilot 'school streets' initiative.

A total of 31 schools expressed an interest in taking part in the pilot, which is designed to improve the environment around schools and encourage safer and healthier ways for pupils to travel to and from school.

The Local Transport Strategy 2014-19 contains a commitment to pilot school streets at up to five schools.

However, given the volume of interest from schools across the city, a list of ten pilot schemes covering 11 schools has now been drawn up following an exhaustive selection process.

This list will go before members of the Transport and Environment Committee for approval at their meeting on Tuesday 28 October 2014, with a view to beginning consultation in the first tranche of schools next month.

The pilot schemes will prohibit traffic on streets outside or around school entrances at specific times of day.  Doing this creates a safer, more pleasant environment which promotes travel to school by walking and cycling. Further benefits for the whole community around the school, including residents and local businesses, would include reduced congestion and decreased levels of air and noise pollution.

Councillor Lesley Hinds, Transport Convener, said: "We were really delighted with the level of interest from schools right across Edinburgh so we wanted to make sure we rolled out the pilot scheme to as many school communities as we could. The next stage is to take the proposals out for consultation in each of the school communities, starting with the five sites (six schools) in Phase 1."

The first schools for the pilot scheme consultation are: Duddingston Primary School and St John's RC Primary School (which are adjacent to each other), Abbeyhill Primary School, Colinton Primary School, Sciennes Primary School and Cramond Primary School.

Consultation for schools in the second phase is earmarked for early 2015 and will cover: Towerbank Primary School, St Peter's RC Primary School, Clermiston Primary School, Bonaly Primary School and Buckstone Primary School. 

If the Committee agrees to proceed with the pilot following consultation, Phase 1 could be implemented in August/September 2015 and Phase 2 in December 2015. This timetable is provisional, however, as changes may result from any objections received during the required Experimental Traffic Regulation Order process.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.