Candidates confirmed for Liberton/Gilmerton by-election

The candidates standing in the Liberton/Gilmerton by-election on Thursday 20 June 2013 have been confirmed.

They are:

Derek Howie - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Phil Hunt - Pirate Party Scotland
John Christopher Knox - Scottish Liberal Democrats
Alys Mumford - Scottish Green Party
Stephanie Murray - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Keith John Robson - Labour and Co-operative Party Candidate
John Scott - Independent
Jonathan Stanley - UKIPScotland

Voters in this ward have until Wednesday 5 June 2013 to register to vote or apply for a postal vote for the by-election. To register to vote or apply for a postal vote people should contact the Electoral Registration Office or phone 0131 344 2500.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm. The location of some polling places has changed so voters should check their polling cards carefully to find out where to vote.

Polling Places:

  • Gilmerton Community Centre
  • Goodtrees Neighbourhood Centre
  • Liberton Kirk Halls
  • Liberton Northfield Church
  • South Neighbourhood Office and Library
  • St Gregory‚Äôs Church Hall
  • TA Centre
  • Valley Park Community Centre

The by-election will use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system where voters can rank candidates in order of preference using numbers rather than a single cross. Voters can give a rank to as many or as few candidates as they like. The result of the by-election will be announced once the votes are counted on Friday 21 June.

The vacancy in the Liberton/Gilmerton ward was created by the death of Councillor Tom Buchanan on Wednesday 3 April.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.