Votes to be cast for Scottish Youth Parliament

Voting for the new intake of members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) will get underway in Edinburgh tomorrow, Friday 1 March.

Sixteen young people will battle it out for the 12 Edinburgh seats - two for each of the Scottish Parliamentary areas.

Organisers hope turnout will be high after a record 10,000 ballots were cast at the last election in 2011.

Young people can register their vote at schools, colleges, universities and community centres until 13 March.

Over the last parliament, SYP members have debated issues ranging from same-sex marriage to the living wage.

Education Convenor Cllr Paul Godzik said: "The record turn-out in 2011 shows that are young people in Edinburgh are switched-on, and keen to shape the matters that affect their day to day lives.

"It's great to see so many candidates putting themselves forward, and I wish them all the best of luck."

The full list of candidates are:


  • Ciaran Davidson
  • Martyna Napierska
  • Wing Yan Ng


  • Assad Khan
  • Megan Smith
  • Paul Sloan


  • James Dalgleish
  • Katie Evans
  • Terri Miller


  • Alisha Malik
  • Calum Fila


  • Rosie Pudney
  • Sarah Findlay
  • Sofia Della Sala


  • Dean Pearson
  • Owen Cruikshank

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.