Local Government Election results 2012

This is a list of the candidates elected in each ward. You can download the full results of this election below.

You can also download results from the 2007 Local Government Election. If you need the results of an earlier election, please contact our team.

Ward 1 - Almond

Lindsay Paterson - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Norman James Work - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Alastair Gordon Shields - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Ward 2 - Pentland Hills

Bill Henderson - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Ricky Henderson - Scottish Labour Party
Dominic Heslop - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 3 - Drum Brae / Gyle

Karen Keil - Scottish Labour Party
Ron Cairns - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Robert Aldridge - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Ward 4 - Forth

Cammy Day - Scottish Labour Party
Allan George Jackson - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Steve Cardownie - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Vicki Redpath - Scottish Labour Party

Ward 5 - Inverleith

Lesley Hinds - Scottish Labour Party
Nigel Bagshaw - Scottish Green Party
Gavin Barrie - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Iain Whyte - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 6 - Corstorphine / Murrayfield

Jeremy Ross Balfour - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Frank Ross - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Paul Edie - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Ward 7 - Sighthill / Gorgie

Catherine Fullerton - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Eric Milligan - Scottish Labour Party
Donald Wilson - Scottish Labour Party
Denis Charles Dixon - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 8 - Colinton / Fairmilehead

Jason Geoffrey Rust - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Elaine Aitken - Scottish Conserative and Unionist
Richard Lewis - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 9 - Fountainbridge / Craiglockhart

Gavin Corbett - Scottish Green Party
Andrew Burns - Scottish Labour Party
David Key - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 10 - Meadows / Morningside

Mark McInnes - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Melanie Main - Scottish Green Party
Paul Godzik - The Labour & Co-operative Party
Sandy Howat - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 11 - City Centre

Joanna Mowat - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Alasdair Rankin - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Karen Doran - Scottish Labour Party

Ward 12 - Leith Walk

Angela Blacklock - Scottish Labour Party
Deidre Leanne Brock - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Maggie Chapman - Scottish Green Party
Nick Gardner - Scottish Labour Party

Ward 13 - Leith

Gordon Munro - Scottish Labour Party
Chas Booth - Scottish Green Party
Adam McVey - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 14 - Craigentinny / Duddingston

Joan Griffiths - Scottish Labour Party
Stefan Tymkewycz - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Alex Lunn - Scottish Labour Party

Ward 15 - Southside / Newington

Steve Burgess - Scottish Green Party
Ian Perry - Scottish Labour Party
Jim Orr - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Cameron Rose - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 16 - Liberton / Gilmerton

Norma Austin Hart - Scottish Labour Party
Bill Cook - Scottish Labour Party
Tom Buchanan - Scottish National Party (SNP)
Nick Cook - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward 17 - Portobello / Craigmillar

Maureen Child - Scottish Labour Party
Mike Bridgman - Scottish National Party (SNP)
David Walker - Scottish Labour Party

Voter preference information

Detailed voting information from the 2012 council elections is available to download below. It provides information for each ward about the order that voters ranked candidates. There is also guidance which you can download to help you understand the information.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve edinburgh.gov.uk

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.