European Election Results

European Election Results 2014

Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) are elected by proportional representation (PR). Instead of electing one person to one seat in each constituency, the UK is divided up into regions, and several MEPs are elected from each region.

Scotland is treated as one region and returns six MEPs out of 73 for the UK. The PR system uses closed regional lists, where political parties put forward candidates within each region (the regional list). Individual candidates may also stand. Voters cast their vote either for a party or an individual candidate.

Successful Candidate Party Votes on allocation of seat
Ian Hudghton Scottish National Party (SNP) 389503
David Martin Labour Party 348219
Ian Duncan Conservative Party 231330
Alyn Smith Scottish National Party (SNP) 194752
Catherine Stihler Labour Party 174110
David Adam Coburn UK Independence Party (UKIP) 140534

Find and download European Election full results, including Edinburgh Local Counting Area results with the number of rejected votes, and results from 2009

If you would like to view the results from previous elections, please contact our team.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.