Local Government By-Election Results

Ward 12 - Leith Walk By-Election Result (2019)

Following the resignation of Councillor Marion Donaldson, a by-election took place on Thursday 11 April 2019.

Candidate elected

Rob Munn - Scottish National Party (SNP) - elected at stage 11

Electorate: 24,197
Votes cast: 7,267
Turnout: 30.3%

Download the full Leith Walk by-election result

Ward 12 - Leith Walk by-Election result (2015)

Following the resignation of Councillors Deidre Brock and Maggie Chapman, a by-election took place on Thursday 10 September 2015.

Candidates elected:

John Lewis Ritchie - Scottish National Party - Elected at stage one
Marion Donaldson - Scottish Labour Party - Elected at stage ten

Electorate: 25,521
Votes Cast: 6,407
Turnout: 25.1%

Download the full by-election result.

Ward 16 - Liberton/ Gilmerton by-election result (2013)

Following the death of Councillor Tom Buchanan, a by-election took place on Thursday 20 June 2013.

Candidate elected: Keith John Robson
Electorate: 24,177
Votes Cast: 7,407
Turnout: 30.6%

Download the full by-election result.

Previous by-elections

You can also download results data from some previous by-elections. These are listed below along with the winning candidates.

  • Ward 11 - City Centre (2011) - Alasdair Rankin - Scottish National Party (SNP) 
  • Ward 16 - Liberton/Gilmerton (2010) - Bill Cook - Scottish Labour Party 
  • Ward 4 - Forth (2008) - Cammy Day - Scottish Labour Party 
  • Murrayfield (2005) - Jeremy Balfour - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

You can contact our team to ask for results from by-elections before 2005.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve edinburgh.gov.uk

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.