Committees and sub-committees

Committee membership and meeting dates

As well as the Full Council, we have a traditional committee system. There are six executive committees which make decisions on distinct areas of responsibility, these are

  • Housing, Homelessness and Fair Work Committee
  • Finance and Resources Committee
  • Culture and Communities Committee
  • Transport and Environment Committee
  • Policy and Sustainability Committee
  • Education, Children and Families Committee

There are a range of meetings that consider reports on specific areas. These include

  • committees that deal with specific issues such as planning and licensing, including applications
  • a scrutiny committee called Governance, Risk and Best Value, which scrutinises audit findings, policies and major projects, among other areas.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.