Make up of the Council

The City of Edinburgh Council is made up of 63 elected councillors. They represent 17 wards within the city. 

The 63 Councillors represent the following groups

  • 17 Conservative Group
  • 17 SNP Group
  • 11 Labour Group
  • 8 Green Group
  • 6 Liberal Democrat Group.
  • 4 Independent

The full Council meets once a month and takes decisions on important issues such as the Council budget. The Council also delegates decisions to committees. Further information is available on the Committee membership page.

Do you have any comments about this page?

Help us improve

  • The City of Edinburgh Council will only use this email address to respond to any issues raised.