Southside Community Council members appointed

A new community council will be formed in Southside following a successful nomination period.

Eleven members have been elected to the community council, which is being reformed after four years. There will also be members from two local interest groups – The Causey Development Trust and the Southside Association.

The first meeting of the community council will be held in the near future, where the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer will be appointed, as well as the approval of a Constitution.

This meeting will be chaired by the Returning Officer (Councillor Jim Orr), with support from Committee Services officers of the Council. Following this, the community council will be able to make arrangements for its future meetings.

Communities and Neighbourhoods Convener, Councillor Maureen Child, said: “Congratulations to the new members of Southside Community Council, I'm delighted that these individuals can now come together to support the needs of, and make improvements on behalf of, their local community.

“Community councils are a great way for local people meet and to share ideas for improving the area in partnership with their own local Councillors."

The city’s community councils are involved in each of its 12 Neighbourhood Partnerships (external link) and work with the Council and other organisations to represent the views of local people.

Find out more about community councils on the Council website.

Share and Enjoy:These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.


The City of Edinburgh Council news blog - letters, opinion, news snippets, video, photos and more.....

Recent posts