Tour of Britain titleholder to race in Edinburgh

Twelve months on from claiming his biggest win to date, Team Cannondale Garmin cyclist Dylan Van Baarle will visit Edinburgh when he returns to the Tour of Britain to defend his title.

The Dutch cycling champion (pictured) won the 2014 edition of Britain's biggest bike race, snatching victory from Michal Kwiatkowski and Sir Bradley Wiggins.

He will wear the #1 at the head of the six rider Team Cannondale Garmin line-up, the remainder of which will be confirmed in the coming days by Tour of Britain organisers.

Over 20 of the world’s top teams
will take part in the competition. Van Baarle is the second former winner to confirm his participation, alongside 2009 Champion Edvald Boasson Hagen who will lead the MTN Qhubeka p/b Samsung team, which also includes 2013 stage winner Gerald Ciolek.

Stage Four of the Aviva Tour of Britain will start in Edinburgh on Wednesday 9 September, kicking off at 10.00am from Holyrood Park. The riders will travel up the Canongate and the Royal Mile to the Hub, before racing down Johnstone Terrace towards Lauriston Place and the Meadows. See a video of the full route at the Council’s Tour of Britain webpage.

Speaking last week, Councillor Richard Lewis, Festivals and Events Champion for the City of Edinburgh Council, said: "The first wave of confirmed riders features some of the world’s most talented and award-winning cyclists - I can’t wait to hear who else will race the city’s streets on 9 September."

The Aviva Tour of Britain is British Cycling's premier road cycling event giving cycling fans the opportunity to see the world's best teams and riders competing on their door step.

Follow news on Twitter #ToBEdinburgh 

Dylan Van Baarle 2014 Tour of Britain titleholder

Share and Enjoy:These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.


The City of Edinburgh Council news blog - letters, opinion, news snippets, video, photos and more.....

Recent posts