Edinburgh recognised in Queen's birthday honours

The Lord Provost blogs:

I would like to pass on my congratulations to all those named in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list this week – but particularly to those from Edinburgh.

Unsurprisingly the list is dominated by professionals in sport, science and education – fields Edinburgh has long been famed for. Yet this is also our chance to celebrate the outstanding dedication shown by people in all walks of life. Some are already household names while others are known only in their communities - but every one of them has made a difference worthy of recognition from the Queen. And, of course, from us.

One of our own former school teachers Lindsey Margaret Watt has been awarded the OBE for services to education, following her years as Head Teacher of Castleview Primary School, while former Councillor Alastair Paisley has been recognised with the British Empire Medal. A special mention also goes to Norman Springford, whose philanthropic support is enabling Edinburgh to redevelop the Ross Bandstand and restore the Ross Fountain in West Princes Street Gardens. With his help, this iconic feature will be back in spring next month.

Other Edinburgh honours include:


Dr Ethel Quayle Reader in Clinical Psychology, Copine Research Project, University of Edinburgh for services to the Online Welfare of Children and Young People.

Dr Alison Janet Elliot, the former Associate Director, Centre for Theology and Public Issues, University of Edinburgh for services to the public service.

Professor Carole Hillenbrand, Emerita Professor, Islamic History, University of Edinburgh and Professor, University of St Andrews for services to the Understanding of Islamimic History.


Mrs Katherine Sally McMath, County President, Girlguiding West Lothian.

Ms Barbara Pettigrew Allison, Director, Communications, Ministerial Support and Facilities, Scottish Government for public service.                                                                                                                                                                                

David John Climie, Project Director, The Forth Replacement Crossing Project, Transport Scotland for services to Engineering.

Professor Robert John McArthur Craik, Provost Emeritus, Heriot-Watt University Malaysia for services to Higher Education.

Dr Andrew Kerr Fraser, Director of Public Health Science, NHS Health Scotland for services to Healthcare.

Robin Charles Moreton Harper, formerly the first Green MSP to be elected in Scotland, and lately Chairman, Scottish Wildlife Trust, for services to Nature Conservation and Public Life in Scotland.

Professor Phillip John, Executive Chair, Scholar Forum, for services to Education in Scotland.

Norman Springford, Executive Chairman of Apex Hotels, for services to the Scottish Tourism Industry.

Ms Lindsey Margaret Watt, formerly Headteacher of Castleview Primary School, for services to Education in Edinburgh.

Dr Valerie Rose Doherty, Consultant Dermatologist, The Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and Chair, Scottish Melanoma Group for services to Cancer Care.

Alexander Jackson, secretary of East District XC League, for services to Cross Country running.

Colin McEachran, former first secretary of the Scottish Shooting Council, for services to Target Shooting and Commonwealth Games Scotland.

Ms Sharon Anne Moore, Industry Technical Leader for Travel and Transportation, IBM UK Ltd for services to Women in Technology Based Industries.

Ms Valerie Morag Munro, Trustee and former Chair, North Edinburgh Arts for services to Community Arts and Regeneration.

Mrs Diane Margaret Ross for services to the Scouting Movement and the community in Edinburgh.

Ronald Kenneth Sloan, Chairman, SportsAid Scotland for services to Sport and Charity.

Mrs Ann Marr Wells, World War One Commemorations Officer, Scottish Government  for services to the History of World War One in Scotland.

British Empire Medal

Alastair Paisley, who was until 2012 councillor for the Pentland Hills Ward.

Alexander Hugh McCormack Begbie, Chief People Officer, Standard Life for services to Business and Social Inclusion.

Congratulations and well done to every single one.

The Rt Hon Lord Provost and Lord Lieutenant of Edinburgh Frank Ross


The City of Edinburgh Council news blog - letters, opinion, news snippets, video, photos and more.....

Recent posts